top of page
Writer's picturePRYTYK

Standing with Ukraine

Some samples which unintendedly become a political statement.


Ukraine
"CTRL Z"

This cartoon project was created during the first days of Russian invasion into Ukraine in March 2022.


Unconsciously, it became a continuation of my previous projects, which were dedicated to Ukraine and to my family.


Here below is my old DIY project "Ukranian Summer", dated 2006 and inspired by the Ukranian folk tales. It is a sculpturing project, made of paper mache and gypsum bandage. I couldn't think those days - in 2006 - that once I would refer to the idea of this project as smth. political or ideological...


Those days I just wanted to give a stage for these three female Ukraniane characters, peacefully chatting on a village fence.

Ukranian ladies, chatting, gossips
"Ukranian Summer", 2006

For me, there was something tauching in the characters of these ladies, with their flowing routine and calmness. Later I've returened to the Ukraniane theme several times.

Ukranian market, a couple
"On a way to a market", 2015

Ukranian village
"Ukranian village", 2015

Ukraine, gossips, chatting, ladies
"Ukranian summer", a mug print


Discovering a new medium for me - a printing on mugs - I've decided to transmit the old characters into this new medium. Surprisingly, they found here their ultimate place there.




















Illustrated mugs
Mug Prints

Later I added to this trio a rooster with a newspaper and a cat, with traditional ukranian muctache, who tried to steal a sausages from a pot:

Ukranian summer talks
"Ukranian summer talks", Adding new charachters. 2016

I wish to return to these projects and to develope them further not as a result of political pressure or a self-identificaion statement, but as a result of my free willing. But, since now and during the next decades / generations, I believe all of us will be under a strong influence of the current circumstances. If it is so... I make it as political as I can:


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page